When East Indian Railway was Established

East Indian Railway was originally known as East Indian Railway Company was one to introduce railways in eastern and northern India. Some larger companies that operate in other parts of the country are South Indian Railway, the Great Indian Peninsula Railway, Central India Railway and North Eastern Railway.

This company was established in 1845 in London with a huge amount of capital. The railway is also one of the most important zones of Indian Railways. The Head-quarters of railways are located in Kolkata.


This area is divided into 4 parts, which consists of Malda, Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol and in order to manage and operate properly. Formation of railways was by the merger of railways departments of Asansol, Sealdah, Calcutta and Danapur to Bengal – Nagpur Railway April 14, 1952.

Railway images gallery

Related News: