Jaguar Fun Facts You Don’t Know About

Jaguars are big cats that can be found in North, Central and South America. They are marked with yellow or orange coats, dark spots, and short legs. Dark spots on their coat unlike any other cat spots. Each spot seems like a rose and are called rosettes.

Today Jaguar is located in South and Central America, from Mexico to northern Argentina. Range of species previously spread across the US border in the southern states of America, but became destroyed there by 1940 due to hunting. There are sporadic observations in Arizona in recent years, however.

Baby jaguars are called cubs. They are born with eyelids sealed shut. After about two weeks, the cubs can see for the first time. After six months, the mother of a cubs “teach them how to hunt after their second birthday, the cubs will leave their mother to live independently.

Jaguars are solitary animals and live and hunt alone, except during the mating season. Male home is range from 19 to 53 square miles and often intersects with the smaller animals ranges of several females.

Jaguar name comes from the Native American word yaguar, which means “he who kills with one leap.”

Jaguar images gallery

Jaguar 2

Jaguar 3

Jaguar 4

Jaguar 5


Jaguar 6

Jaguar 7

Jaguar 9

Jaguar 10

Jaguar 11

Jaguar 12

Jaguar 13

Large male Jaguar in the PantanalP


Related News: