Hardik Pandya, India’s all-rounder, was sanctioned by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for violating the Code of Conduct during the first Twenty20 International (T20I) against Australia in Adelaide on Tuesday (26 January). Pandya was reprimanded for what Chris Lynn accompanied him after caught at extra cover during the Australia’s chase of 188.
Pandya was sanctioned in accordance with the provision which refers to the “use of language, actions or gestures that disparage or which may provoke a violent response from the bat on his / her dismissal during international matches.”
The incident occurred in 15th over of Australian innings after Lynn hit middle-Pacer for a six. Pandya is to offer a complete delivery, in which Lynn plays a full-blooded drive but managed to find Yuvraj Singh inside the circle, sparking wild celebrations from the 22-year-old bowler. Simon Fry and John Ward, the referee on the field, brought a warning to the teenager for his indiscretion.
By the way, there was no word from the sport’s governing body on whether there is record against Virat Kohli, who was caught gesticulating and exchanging words with Steven Smith following the dismissal of the latter.
India lead the three match series 1-0. The second T20I will be played on (29th January) Friday.